Remote Desktop With Windows

NegativeSpace

I'm pretty new to learning networking, and starting now with basic Windows stuff, namely with Remote Desktop Connection. I haven't been able to get it working on my local network, with XP SP3 machine as host and WIN7 machine as client. I've read all of the forum posts containing the words "remote desktop". It seems that most people prefer third party software over Windows remote desktop, and I probably will too whenever I start to use remote access for something other than teaching myself, but for now I just want to use the built in Windows tool so that I can learn the concept of how it works and so I will know how if I ever actually need it.

I've had a couple problems so far. First, I don't fully understand how Windows' remote desktop software knows how to 'find' the computer I want to connect to over the internet (actually just over my LAN for now). All the machines in my house have their local IP addresses and their names, but I know that their IP addresses are not unique, since I have seen the same numbers on many other computers all over the place. I also know that when I use a website to look up my own IP address from all the different machines in my house, they are all reported to me as having the same IP address, so maybe you can see how I am a little confused. Am I right in assuming that, conceptually, 'connections' come to my local networks IP address, and are then sent to the correct local machines by the router (which does so by knowing the local IP of the machine that originally sent the request)?

OK getting off topic, sorry. Anyway, when I open Remote Desktop Connection software, and it asks me to enter the name of the remote computer, and I do, what does the software do then? Can I even use remote desktop over my local network? Basically, I guess I just need help understanding the overall process of RDP and where the magic smoke comes from.

So, is anyone up to the challenge?