Understanding How Network And Vlans Work

ascorbic

I am trying to learn more about networking and how to set up a network, specifically with VLANs. I believe VLANs are the answer to helping me bridge and isolate my network, but I am no expert on this topic so I could be way off.

I have mentioned else where I am planning on sticking with eBox as my router/firewall. I have a quad port intel pro 1000 nic. eth0 is WAN, eth 1 & 2 will be internal and eth3 will be connected to a wireless router in bridged mode. I have a very small number of wired machines so I don't want to have an additional piece of hardware just for them, I'd rather plug them directly into the router because I have the ports there. (I also have additional ports but I want to get a smaller base configuration working first).

In my first attempt I configured eth1 & 2 as 192.168.100.1/24 and 192.168.100.2/24 respectivly. I enabled DHCP (Yeah I know I could just use static IPs but I will also have VMs running on the client machines that I want to pick up IPs automatically) on eth1 to hand out IPs in the 192.168.100.100-199 range. When machines were plugged into eth1 & 2 they got an IP but could not ping anything. I learned this was because having eth1 & 2 on the same subnet resulted in a routing issue. The solution was to place eth1 on 192.168.101.1/24 and eth2 on 192.168.102.1/24. After this change routing works.

Now when eth3 comes into play on 192.168.103.1/24, clients are able to ping anything on the entire network, ie 192.168.101.0/24. So I thought the answer might be VLANs. My wired VLAN was going to be 192.168.110.0/24 and wireless 192.168.120.0/24. When I gave eth1 and eth2 VLAN IPs of 192.168.110.1 and 192.168.110.2 I ran into the same exact routing problems.