Zipit2 wireless files

Retro-Starr

So it turns out that I forgot to copy the damn wireless files, but I remembered to rename it. I did the Windows way so I already overwrote the files. I was wondering if anybody still has a copy because this seriously sucks. I already tried reformatting to FAT32 and starting over, but I only got the z2script.sh file.

If anybody knows why I can't turn off my zipit would you please tell me how. After I flashed it the first time I have to take out the battery to turn it off.

Thank you in advance!

I imaging that if you are running linux, ou need to open a terminal and do ashutdown.

shutdown -h now

Or prefix with sudo if its installed

sudo shutdown -h now

Meanwhile as I await my saviour to post the wireless files, can I install the rest of Debian and at a later time update the wireless yes? If yes, I'd like to setup games and the such on the zipit2 so it can be useful in the meanwhile. Thing is, is that I'm not really good with linux so I don't know how to transfer setup files if that is at all possible.

I think as long as you successfully flashed the bootloader, you are still good. What's really happening (and anyone correct me if I'm wrong please) is that you are telling the Zipit to look on the miniSD card to boot from. It's kinda like a live CD (or booting off a flash drive). I've got all the files from my hack, are the ones you need gpsi8686.bin and gspi8686_hlp.bin?

it takes a bit. for me it did nothing, then blinked off, then I got the blank bootloader screen again, and then got the login prompt. see if the light on the front is blinking, that means that its reading from the card. total time from cold boot to login is maybe 30 seconds or something.

I got it to work now, thank you. I have a problem when I start x I can't right click (the square) so I have to restart to drop back to terminal. Also can't seem to get wifi, have WEP so I do

iwconfig eth1 essid "<error 411>" key s:<key_here>