Optomizing Linux File and SSH server

pritchard9

I've turned a friends old PC into an Arch Linux server, mainly a file and SSH server, messing a little with XAMPP as I'm wanting to learn some PHP.

Anyways, everyone likes to improve their machines. As do I. Since I'm a bit of a noob, I'm not sure about what speeds I should be getting with my setup, so I'm going to outline my setup and some speeds, and hopefully I'll get some replies from more experienced people, maybe with tips on making things faster.

My main rig is an old Dell Latitude, with a 54mbps miniPCI wireless card. This SSHs into the old PC I got from a friend. It's running Arch Linux, with SSHd and vsftpd running, aswell as MPD for some music loveliness.

The server has an Edimax band N wireless PCI card. The original driver I had installed from the Arch repo refused to work on Band N, so I downloaded and installed the newest driver straight from the Ralink website.

"iwconfig ra0" shows that the bitrate is around 130mbps on the server, and 54mbps on the laptop.

I ran iperf, connecting the laptop to the server, to get some real world results. Heres the output -

[ 3] local 192.168.1.68 port 58120 connected with 192.168.1.70 port 5001

[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth

[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 11.3 MBytes 9.44 Mbits/sec

When I download files from the server to my laptop, now (after updating the driver) im getting about 2MB/s. Uploads are about 1MB/s.

Any ideas? I recieved the server with only 128MB RAM. It's still only got 128. Im in the process of buying 1GB for it. Will this increase speeds at all?

How can I increase these speeds, in a nice budget-friendly way? Any ideas?

Thanks.

First of all, you need to work out where the bottle neck is. The tool called top is a good place to start.

Also, what are the spec's of the machines? I'm feeling charitable and have access to a bunch of kit a few gens old that will be sent to a 3rd world country and landfilled soon.

Wow, thanks for the fast reply!