SSH

joeypesci

I have SSH setup on my machine at home with a rock hard password :) I hope, but I notice in the event logs in my computer, shit loads of attempts to guess a user name and password. Is there anyway to prevent this bar changing the port I've got it setup on?

I have to have it on port 22 'cause it's the only open port that appears to work at work. I've got Endian firewall setup but not sure if there is an option on that to auto block IPs if they attempt an attack every few seconds (as they are every second in the logs.)

If you will only ever access it from work, and your company has a IP range or static IP address, make it only accessible from this (range of) IP(s) with a firewall rule. If your company is on a dynamic IP range, allow that whole range.

Even applying a rule that blocks all IPs that don't originate (according to whois) from with in your country would put a massive plug in this.

Thanks. Know of any guides to do what you said :) I'm still a bit of a noob really. Only got the SSH setup via a guide.

That depends on the OS and firewall software you are using, but you will want to add a trusted ip range to access that port number and block all other resuests for that port. Also block any ICMP requests and replies, so you can at least try to stealth the port from being seen with pings and port scans.

I'm using a combo, which maybe overkill of the router firewall (Draytek Vigor2800VG), Endian Firewall, then for Outbound monitoring on machines I have Comodo as it lets me control specific programs that request net access. And I'm on XP SP3, using COPSSH.

I'm using a combo, which maybe overkill of the router firewall (Draytek Vigor2800VG), Endian Firewall, then for Outbound monitoring on machines I have Comodo as it lets me control specific programs that request net access. And I'm on XP SP3, using COPSSH.