Lock screen on laptop lid close

elitecodex

Hey everyone...I would like to setup my laptop (win xp) to automatically lock itself when I close the lid to my laptop. I know I can set it to ask for a password when coming back from standby, but I want my computer to keep running(background services and such). If I can get it to run a screensaver when I close the lid to my laptop, I can live with that...

If there is no existing solution, I will begin investigating my own solution - Im a programmer so there has to be some windows hook I can tap into... so any suggestions in that area would be great too.

Thanks

Laptops can use the power config to shutdown or put into sleep mode/standby mode when the lid is shut, so I am sure there is a way to do it with another app(or just use the power options). You can also make it so it prompts for a password after coming back from standby under the power options advanced tab.

Laptops can use the power config to shutdown or put into sleep mode/standby mode when the lid is shut, so I am sure there is a way to do it with another app(or just use the power options). You can also make it so it prompts for a password after coming back from standby under the power options advanced tab.

I looked in the power options... which is exactly what I want... just dont want the standby part (I want the computer to still run)... basically do the exact same thing as WinKey+L when I close the lid on my laptop. Suppose I will have to look closely at the MSDN to see whats available.