Ubuntu Studio help/advice

RogueHart

please dont post google links. posting google links to answer a noob question is an outdated practice.

i just finished getting ubuntu studio installed on my computer. so now i have vista and linux.

its my first time leaving a windows environment outside of school mac's and knoppix. so its a bit of a trip lol.

ive got a few questions and since the hak5 community is the most helpful community ive been a part of i thought this would be the proper place to post.

first and foremost gnome is kind of confusing. while windows taskbar matches the screens resolution regardless of what its set to, the gnome toolbar at the top of my screen doesnt go across the entre thing.

screenshot1ny0.png

and because of this when i maximize a window it only stretches to the length of the bar. both of these bother me quite a bit and limit my productivity. although only slightly limiting it is still limiting lol. although as far as features and overall look i am enjoying gnome much more than explorer

thanks for any help. if i have any more questions ill edit this post.

if your just going to be an ass dont bother posting. im just requesting some advice/help not begging or trying to force anyone to answer.

edit:

im also having trouble finding a program that will allow me to use my webcam. i probably need to find a way to install the drivers.

does anyone know of a good c++ ide?

and im in need of some fonts. i'd like to find a times new roman clone

and "sudo apt-get install" ive been using for certain programs i knew about. but it says there are about 153 packages and i want to see what they are. so can anyone tell me where to look or what to type? im new to bash and its a switch from batch.

edit

okay its no longer just the bar. this is incredibly frustrating. this is fullscreen

screenshotsr7.png

edit