How should CA keys be replaced in a PKI system?

cooper

The question sounds like something I should be asking Google, and I did but it's rather mum on the subject.

So here's the deal:

When you use asymmetric cryptography, you vigilantly protect your private key while anybody can have your public key. But the two are linked and to be able to use the one you need to have done something with the other. The problem is that at some point your private key will expire. That means that the outside world that took in your public key needs to not only expire your old key aswell, but accept your new key as a replacement key for you.

How do people set about achieving this?

My paranoia is such that I DO NOT trust the current crop of so-called trusted third parties such as the Verisigns and GeoTrusts of this world. I work in healthcare transporting some rather private and very personal information of patients and when I choose to trust you, I will trust YOU. Not some nameless entity that supposedly has its shit together and as a direct result anything else it chooses to trust that I don't have ANY intention of trusting.

My paranoia paid dividents when mere years ago dutch government CA's DigiNotar and GemNet were hacked. The outcome was that DigiNotar was shut down and GemNet decided to stop using a default, password-less PHP-MyAdmin for administering the underlying DB (hrmm, yeah, now there's a thought...) and continue under a different name (KPN Locale Overheid).