Inspired noobie here

Whiskey8

Greetings fellow Hak5 enthusiasts!

I was recommended to this site by a redditor who put up an AMA(Ask me Anything) about his ethical hacking. To say that I am intrigued by what you all do here is a huge understatement! I love computers, I have always been a big gamer, when i was a freshman in high school i built my first computer, and my sophmore year at VCU I took some webmaster classes where i learned a little HTML and basic school related programs. I have enlisted in the Air Force and I'm trying to get into their cyber field, but I'm afraid with my lack of experience and knowledge of different aspects that I won't have a chance against other people. Anyways, now that I've taken this last year off of school and i have 6 months untill I leave for BMT I have a little time to "train" and gain a skill that personally within my circle i have yet to see. Without further adieu..to my question!

Where to start? I have browsed the forum a bit and learned that there is somewhat of a timeline to certain projects. So where did you start and how? How do you recommend I start? Maybe something fun, like a prank, something easy would be preferable. Also, i figure a project that could teach me the basics so that after i finish and learn the ropes I can do something a little more challenging each time. I"m here to learn!

again, you all are an inspiration and I would appreciate the help!

Whiskey

Have a purpose, pick your goal, brainstorm, research, and execute. Most of us here, have learned by doing, and when we get stuck we ask for help. Where to start is a broad question and the subject of something you haven't even mentioned, what is it you want to start with? Figure out what it is you need, or want to do, then figure out how to do it, and when you get stuck, post your code, questions, what you tried, etc, and then people usually chime in.

Edited by digip