Backtrack And Wpa

singh763173

Hi all,

So I started messing around with Backtrack today... Not really been too successful in cracking some WPA/WPA2 keys.

I started with my own network and was able to get the handshake and then played with the wordlists (scanned and didnt find anything - entered the key manually into the list and it worked)... that was all very well. So i thought I'd try on a friends network (with permission)... I couldnt get the handshake :( So i tried another.... again couldnt get the handshake. What could I be doing wrong? or What else can I try? Im fairly new to all of this and just to further my own knowledge want to learn how to "crack it" pardon the pun.

I also went on to start thinking about brute forcing the key rather than relying on a wordlist... 9/10 people use A-Z and 1-9 in their keys so i watched some vids on youtube with regards to brute forcing. found that this could be pretty time consuming to say the least...

So I suppose what Im asking is - Anyone fancy showing me the ropes?

Thanks in advance all!

You need to make sure someone is actually connected to the router, then do the deauth. Its possible you have the handshake in the pcap, but Aircrack couldn't parse it out to find it. If so, you would have to manually pull the data out. See here: http://trac.aircrack-ng.org/ticket/651 and http://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.php?topic=4054.msg30718#msg30718

However, this also doesn't confirm you have the key, just that it may already be in the pcap. You would have to use something like wireshark to find the handshake to use it in Aircrack, or try feeding the pcap to cowpatty, see if its found.

Thanks for the links! I shall read up on them both when i get in aswell as cowpatty!