Sony Ericsson U10i

niels

Hey everybody,

a while ago a friend of my asked me to look at his Sony Ericsson U10i. The problem is it blocked, he asked me to try and unlock it.

I have no experience with unlocking mobile phones. I read some thing about setools but you must pay for this software and you need a special usb cable.

Another method I found was unlocking the phone my sending the IMEI to a company and they will generate a unlock code, like this site for example Mobile Unlocked.

Could a site like that be trusted that is my main concern, would that unlock code work ?

Has any one had some experiences with this type of problem ?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Regards,

Niels

How it is locked. I mean, doesnt that phone allow your friend to change simcard. Is that protection set by operator or by other user?

Or is that phone on some "black list" ie. your friend has a phone that is reported to be stolen and by that way blocked.

Tell him to take it into one of the stores he is billed through, and they will unlock it for him. There is no reason they shouldn't do it for him, and it will be legit instead of having to trust a 3rd party site over the internet.

For example, if Verizon is his carrier, go to any Verizon store and get it unlocked. If he switches carriers, the new carrier should also be able to unlock it and add it to their network, so long as they offer the same carrier type such as GSM to GSM.

If its a CDMA phone and not GSM based, then it will have no sim card, and wont do you any good to unlock it anyway, you would have to get a new carrier to switch it onto their network, or upgrade the phone to one that has a SIM card on a GSM network. My phone for example, doesn't have a SIM card, so if someone stole it, they can't just pop in their sim card and use it.