Help For Noobs....from Noobs

Hey,

I am a noob so take a deep breath before you start throwing things.

With the help of DNinja, I was able to get my Fon working but have had struggles each time I use it. Below are the steps that I seem to have to do to (each time) get things working. Yes, following the other instructions works...at times but never consistently.

• plug in the fon to another router - this gives you an IP to get logged in
  • pull the cat5 and login via your first wireless card (front facing)
  • login to the fon and change the IP settings to STATIC, then type in your secondary IPs (back facing card)
  • click save but not apply - Every time I press apply the settings revert, if I just click save it saves my alt IPs
  • at that point you can log into the fon and change the IP settings to DHCP (needed to give other clients IPs and for the ICS to pass the internet on.

I know there are other ways to do this but the instructions are far to nebulous for me.

Just thought this might help other noobs.

QUESTIONS;

• Why does the IP settings change between having the fon powered on. (I have to redo this each time the unit is powered off more than a little bit)
  • Why does the button "apply settings" when changing the IP scheme, revert the IPs to the inital connection?

With all these inconsistencies, the unit is not useful outside of a lab. At least not with present router hardware/firmware.

OK, start the beatings.

I think you are seeing weird things because of the way you are using it. If configured correctly the settings stay as they are set and the device works fine wherever you want to put it. I fixed my IP address when I built it and have never changed it since.

Be careful when setting things to DHCP, there is a difference between turning on a DHCP server to give clients a DHCP address and setting an interface to get its IP through DHCP. Reading the last bullet point this might be where you are going wrong.