Imunify360 evasion techniques

fmiller86

I’ve been hired by a company to pentest one of their websites. They are doing this for compliance reasons and not really because they want their website to be as secure as possible... Thing is, I don’t actually have that much experience when it comes to firewall evasion. They preferred not whitelisting my IP even though we recommended the opposite to get a clearer picture of the websites' vulnerabilites (and not the efficiency of the WAF). So I was wondering if anyone could help when it comes to evading imunify360. I’ve already thought about flipping my IP with TOR but it will really slow down the pentest considerably and I only have 3 days to complete it.

I'm pretty new to pentesting so any help would be really appreciated :)

PS: I've already tried to upload files larger than 10MB to bypass the default "max_cloudscan_size_to_scan" but the website already limits files to max 4MB.

If they don't really care then just throw a bunch of automated stuff at it, do whatever manual stuff you can, but then make sure you stress in the report that the WAF was in place for all the test so you can't guarantee the results.

If a client can't be bothered then I'm not going to put any more effort in than I need to and I'll make sure I cover my arse in the report.

Yeah, I get it, that’s fair, and honestly I pretty much felt the same way when I realized what the point of this pentest was. But the truth is that I've only started pentesting recently and I thought I could at least use this as a learning experience. Might be a bit overextending myself, but I'll never go beyond junior pentesting if I don't challenge myself.