Proxmox

hunter258

Hi I am a complete newbie to proxmox.I've installed three nodes with HA and ceph. Live migration works perfectly.My only concern is when a node loses power or get shut down on the physical machine it will start up on another node but with a new startup again.I would just like for it to carry on without starting up again.How can i accomplish this if possible.Thanks Hunter

It's been a while since playing with Proxmox but if it's anything like ESXi and Hyper-V then for HA to work that VM has to be shared between both machines.  Are you using one data store between the two nodes to store the VMs or are the VMs physically running on a machine.  I know when I did my POCs that I had a common data store that held the physical VMs and my two virtual nodes just pointed to them.  If they are physically on a machine then for HA to work you have to have a duplicate on a second node and maybe even a second network just for HA.  (Again remembering more of ESXi and Hyper-V).  Let me know if any of this helps or at least points you in the right direction.  If not I can try to setup a configuration likes yours and give it a try. 

Hi

Are you using one data store between the two nodes to store the VMs - I am using a nfs server.

I do run a dedicated seperate network for this as well.

With all this in place when one node fails the second node does not take over but rather start from scratch again

as if it was offline.

Thanks

Hunty

Hey Hunty,