Triple Boot Problem

ParMan

I'm trying to triple boot my laptop with windows xp sp3, ubuntu 9.10, backtrack 4 final. windows was originally on the laptop. i first installed Ubuntu with out any problems. until i installed backtrack 4. then the ubuntu file could not be found when at boot menu. so i uninstalled and deleted the partition and recreated it and reinstalled ubuntu. it booted up a couple times fine, but now it just has a _ blinking on the top left corner of the screen. i know this does this when windows is loading though I'm still pretty new with Linux. not sure what i should do since it has been blinking like that for a good 10 minutes now. windows and backtrack are still working fine. Should i try to reinstall it again or does anyone have any idea?

Edited by ParMan

I had a -semi- problem with that too, when I installed 9.10 - which uses GRUB2, and then BT4. It was replaced with BT4 which uses GRUB 1.5.

You might be able to get around it by installing BT4 first then Ubuntu, that way you wouldn't have to screw with GRUB.

I was able to load recovery mode when i canceled out of that it gave me the command prompt allowing me to log in and start the x server. after i attempted to load ubuntu and it worked fine so far but i will look into your solutions.