Jump to content

i dont know what i did


ParMan
 Share

Recommended Posts

i dont know what i did i was going to copy a folder over from one hard drive to another. i clicked the file and when to move it and while i was still dragging the folder it said copying My Pictures to Movies...... so i hit cancel now instead of over 300gb of movies in my movie folder i have a My Pictures folder with a few pictures before i canceled it... why was all my stuff deleted and is there anyway i can get it back?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i dont know what i did i was going to copy a folder over from one hard drive to another. i clicked the file and when to move it and while i was still dragging the folder it said copying My Pictures to Movies...... so i hit cancel now instead of over 300gb of movies in my movie folder i have a My Pictures folder with a few pictures before i canceled it... why was all my stuff deleted and is there anyway i can get it back?

hdd to hdd/share/partitions copying should still have the original on the source drive, it doesn't just remove them from the source drive unless you do a "cut and paste". Dragging from one drive to another doesn't move them either, it makes copies. "Cut" will actually remove it from the source drive after copying. Unless you deleted it off the first drive after copying, it should still be there. You could try some recovery tools though, like "Handy Recovery". There is a free version that should be able to recover deleted files, but you will want to run it off a live disc, because the more you tramp on the system while its running, the less chances you have to recover deleted data if those parts of the disc get overwritten.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i still have no idea what happened but i fixed the problem. its really crazy

my movies where in my backtrack 4 folder and then the My Pictures was in the Movies folder.

crazy stressful but fixed.

(i though i lost over 300Gb of movies)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i still have no idea what happened but i fixed the problem. its really crazy

my movies where in my backtrack 4 folder and then the My Pictures was in the Movies folder.

crazy stressful but fixed.

(i though i lost over 300Gb of movies)

It's a allot of effort, but you could just back them up again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's a allot of effort, but you could just back them up again.

yeah i actually would have been sad since i do not have them backed up yet. i just got my server and im still working on setting it up this weekend im going to back everything up.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...