Need To Connect To Distant Wifi

xathor

Hi. I made some posts a few weeks ago about wanting to connect to distant wifi... didn't really get answers. Now that I am here I figured I would try this again. There's a WPA2 network of wifi spots that all have the same ESSID. All the passwords are the same (I have the password) but for some reason depending on which you connect to it gives you a different IP address. So far I can tell there's a 192.168.8.0 and a 192.168.12.0 network.

One gives me an IP of 192.168.8.88, subnet 255.255.254.0 and a GW of 192.168.8.1 with a broadcast of 192.168.9.255.

The other gives me an IP of 192.168.12.6, subnet 255.255.254.0 and a GW of 192.168.12.1 with a broadcast of 192.168.13.255.

I've never seen a network setup like this, although I am by no means a networking expert.

I brought my Pineapple IV and the USB external wifi with me. I also have a powered USB hub. I initially thought about using the Pineapple plugged into a hub with the 2gb USB and USB wifi plugged in to connect to wifi and repeat it locally. I wanted to use wlan1 on the Pineapple to connect to the distant wifi, then use wlan0 to create my own local network that routes thru the distant AP. I set up this scenario at home and it worked out well... I just didn't think it would be WPA2. Unfortunately I have no clue how to connect to a WPA2 network using the Pineapple. I fumbled around with wpa_supplicant with no success.

I would just plug in the USB wifi card to my laptop, but I have a MacBook Pro and there aren't any drivers for it. I was running a VM with Parallels and Windows 7/Linux which works except the laptop gets rather warm and I have a small SSD so having the VM on the SSD takes up a lot of space.

I figure the Pineapple making its own wifi network is a more efficient solution, that way I can have my MBP and other wifi devices on the network without struggle.