OS X Tiger (10.4.11) Terminal Help: Burn Multi-session CD-R From Command Line?

kaervek

I originally planned on coming home today from the library (downloading large files, i.e. linux distros, over iPhone EDGE =/= fun) and setting up a dual-boot on my MacBook running OS X 10.4.11 with Gentoo. I'm a novice with OS X and Unix, let alone Linux, so this is already a learning process. Anyway, I initially thought I'd use an entire CD-R to simply burn the Gentoo .iso, but my ADD kicked in and I decided to burn a DSL live disk first. I didn't want to waste an entire CD-R on a mere 50MB .iso, so I thought it'd be nice to essentially partition the CD to be bootable, while utilizing the remainder of the disk as a separate partition that I could subsequently mount with DSL after it's loaded onto whatever system I use it on. While my first instinct was to use the DiskUtility GUI in OS X, I decided now would be a great time to learn to burn CDs from the command line.

Anyway, while I've found sufficient information (google & man pages, FTW!) to simply burn a directory or a single .iso to disk via Terminal.app, I've yet to find a way to burn a bootable, multi-session CD-R from the Command Line.

A.) Is a bootable, multi-session disk even achievable? Would the bootable partition be automatically detected at boot?

B.) How is this task carried out via the Command Line?

A Mac forum would likely be the ideal place for this, but the Hak5 community came to mind first. You lucky dogs... ;)

Thanks!

Edit:

One of the last google links I tabbed to: http://homepage.mac.com/machiavel/Text/cdr...lti-session_CDs

Downloading Fink now @ a mind-numbing 23KB/sec. Will try to get this cdrecord and see what happens...

Edit 2: