a funny little program I found

wetelectric

It's almost 11pm.... way past my bedtime...... i'll correct any mistakes 2mrw

I'm studying for some linux exam thingy; staying up revising various topics. I decided that I would like to have an audio book, to listen to on the bus to work. My printer is kaput. So I looked around at some text to speech software..and I found a program called festival. I'll just post some of the quick start examples:

This is so fucking good:

echo "smack me with a wet noodle" | festival --tts

For the none unix people here: What this is doing is echoing (printing) the sentence 'smack me with a wet noodle' to standard output on the command line and piping (passing) it to the festival program; converting the text, into speech.

Got that? Nice... you can guess what this does:

date '+%A, %B %e, %Y' | festival --tts

Ok, what about this:
#!/usr/bin/php -q
<?php
// seed srand
srand((double)microtime()*1000000);
// what is the random number?
echo "The random number for the day is " . rand(1,25);
?>

./rand.php | festival --tts

echo "smack me with a wet noodle" | text2wave -scale 50 -o beautiful_day.wav

Converts it to wav file

ok, and now for something completely pointless an annoying :):

tail -f /home/wetelectric/irc/chat.log | grep '<' | festival --tts

you can write a little script that would capture the text inbetween the <> chars and do some pre-processing on the name before hand... you know... if you have no life and that ;)

you can also set up audible intrusion alarms... er... a really lame one:

grep 127.0.0.1 /var/log/messages | echo `wc -l` "attempts so far to haxxor your boxxer by bastard number 1" | festival --tts

erm think crontab........ any more decent ones?

Will this run in a cygwin type deal on windows? The texttowave part looks like it would be cool to make mp3's later on, or if it can do direct to mp3, even better.