Assembly Language

mxlr

hey guys im pretty new to programming (if you cant tell by my sig lol) im just wondering if it would be worth the time to learn assembly or would it be better to invest the time and money in a different lang eg java, c# c++

any feed back would be appricated :D

yeah what are you instested in? if you learn say assembly/C++ (or any other reasonably powerful language) you can create devices and write firmware and drivers and such but if you want to make computer apps learn a coding language like C++

Assembly language is definitely worth learning! Once you understand all the little details of whats going on the lower levels, the higher levels become even easier! everything becomes easier for you! ;)

push eax
mov eax, offset mxlr
mov dword ptr [eax], 0x539
pop eax

that says you are 1337 in assembly language!(well if you were a DOUBLE WORD that is :P)

WORD = 2 bytes; DWORD = 4 bytes

there are advantages and disadvantages.

some advantages are that its an older language. so tutorials and guides and support is all over the place. free.

its a pretty powerful language and works well with hardware.

and (dunno for sure. i havent learned or researched it much) it seems to be held highly in the hacker community as a must know language which tells me its got a lot of uses.

some disadvantages are(im assuming based on what i know). its an old lower level language which tells me it will take more time and effort to code in than a language like c++. its made more for hardware than software from what i can tell.

all in all from what i've read and seen its worth learning. personally im gonna learn c++ first but i plan on learning assembly at some point. :).

i would suggest learning java or c++ as you first langauge, to get an understanding of concepts & ideas, and so you can make graphical stuff (which is fun and helps ya learn).