PIC and stepper motor

tabath

I'm looking at putting together a hack that basically just depesses a pin which in turn closes a valve - the pin and valve bit is done.

I'm thinking about using a PIC microcontroller and a stepper motor so I have control over how much the pin is depressed and so how far closed the valve is.

I have never done any PIC programming before but have found a kit and course that seems reasonable, I have seen pics controlling stepper motors as well but before I go ahead and shell out for the PIC kit I want to make sure this is the best and most cost efficient way to go. Still have to work out how to rig up the stepper motor to the pin to get stepped contol of the pin - any engineers on here done anything similar or could point me in the right direction for this?

Cheers

• 2 weeks later...
I'm looking at putting together a hack that basically just depesses a pin which in turn closes a valve - the pin and valve bit is done.

I'm thinking about using a PIC microcontroller and a stepper motor so I have control over how much the pin is depressed and so how far closed the valve is.

I have never done any PIC programming before but have found a kit and course that seems reasonable, I have seen pics controlling stepper motors as well but before I go ahead and shell out for the PIC kit I want to make sure this is the best and most cost efficient way to go. Still have to work out how to rig up the stepper motor to the pin to get stepped contol of the pin - any engineers on here done anything similar or could point me in the right direction for this?

Cheers

I worked with a stepper motor 2 weeks ago. We used a basic stamp and added a function to rotate pin outputs like a shift register. Each step or half step is controlled by moving around some binary values, where each step cooresponds to moving over one place in the shift register. This is the way most stepper motors work.