Dual Boot Question

Nanob0t

Hello everyone, I have a few questions.  Here's my situation:

Recently I bought a laptop and it came with Vista and other great hardware.  I've been writing music for quite some time now, but I want to hook my guitars, basses, keyboards, etc. to my laptop and record them.  I got a very expensive MIDI controller for... let's just say free.  I went to install the drivers and it says the company isn't going to make drivers for Vista... Disappointing.

So, I have a corporate edition copy of Windows XP Professional Edition and I would like to dual boot my computer, but I have no knowledge of this.  I do a crap load of computer work and hacking, I've just never dealt with two OS's on a computer at a time before.  Questions:

To dual boot do I just install the software off the disc?

If I dual boot, do I have access to all of the directories on the C: hard drive.  If no I need to transfer my software onto XP?

How much space am I looking at using on my hard drive?

If there are any creative solutions to my problem other than dual booting, I'm willing to try.

That's all... Thanks!

http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp

You will need to reinstall everything for XP.

I tried that method th eother day, and it dod not work for me. I would back up everything to another pc,a nd then just put XP on the entire drive unless you really want vista, you need to partition the drive and install xp on one then vista on the other. If your Vista disk is a reinstall or recovery disk(like most come with from Gateway, Dell, etc) it will probably not give you the option to format and partition the drive. Mine just wipes out the drive and installs onto the whole drive. Not what I was expecting.