Basic Network Hacking

lilgulpa

hello i am a simple IT intern for my High school and i work on various computer jobs, fixing, patching, upgrading ...etc i am mostly a hardware guy. but yesterday i got a contract from the owner of a small firm to built 10 workstation computers. they want a basic star topology and all drives are shares this i can do but why big problem is that there current computers are still in use and need all the information ripped out of them "IMPORTANT STUFF". so I'm trying to figure out how i can access there little network from home without having them do too much work. i have tried basic Trojans and various other thing but i need some way of connecting to individual computer and not the static network ip VPN, VNC, BACKDOOR ? any help is much appreciated

Specifics about current network

star topology

4 port modem hooked to a 10 port switch

basic windows xp

no antivirus

all network drives are shared to one another

static ip

physical access can be obtained

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

sorry about the story :)

Your story is a bit hard to read, but it sounds like you need a ftp client.  It sound a bit fishy though, and I will leave it up to other people to help you out more; I don't know why you couldn't simply go over there to back up the data, even if you do it remotely some initial work over at the site is needed.  A good VPN client would accomplish what you need btw. 

P.S. If it is that important, leaving the computers open like that is not a good idea.  You should set them up with a good firewall/anti-virus and do the data copying at the site.  The more I read the post the more of a "help me hack my school/neighbors/kid I'm pissed off at" feel to it.  Also, this belongs in questions.

Trojans? Viruses? WTF? If you want remote access use a VPN.

QFE.

What are even CONSIDERING using these in a corporate environment?!

You either need some common sense and to go back and read the fundamentals or I call BS.