Starting A Web Host! I Need Tips On OS And Other Softwares

hsncorrosion

I having started testing some software to start a web hosting server (I will have a dedicated internet connection before servers go online)

I have never used linux before but I have found out that windows is the worst way to run a hosting server.

This is what I need help with

Linux - Which distro?

Control Panel - Which one?

Some Ideas for panel http://sourceforge.net/projects/webcp/  http://sourceforge.net/projects/ravencore/ Would these be good?

I will be using XAMPP To run the server with http, ftp, php, perl, mysql

What else do I need? What tips do you have for me?

I understand that the cost for a dedicated connection will be GREAT, But I am willing to go for it.

You guys have the skills and knowledge to help me get through this, please help me.

EDIT

This will NOT be a  free web host

I have never used linux before but I have found out that windows is the worst way to run a hosting server.

NAAAHH?!?!?! REALLY?!!?!?! I t's not?!?! Really?!?!

http://www.engardelinux.org/

or

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_etch

http://www.ispconfig.org/

just a little searching would have given you both of these

and fuck xampp unless it's windows and then still fuck xampp

OpenBSD isn't going to work for him without some basic unix expirence, which freeBSD will supply. Redhat is a good choice, I would use CentOS over fedora though.

Same as FreeBSD the newer versions of OpenBSD are easier to install and use now. Why CentOS over Fedora? Fedora is much more user friendly and is very secure, RHEL is a good choice if he has money to spend.

OpenBSD isn't going to work for him without some basic unix expirence, which freeBSD will supply. Redhat is a good choice, I would use CentOS over fedora though.