how to block remote exe files

darkevilent

hi i am a system admin for a large high school in Australia and i am trying to find a way to block exes files that students bring to school on there usb drives does any one know a way to stop them from running on the computers i have placed on programs restrictions and they have bypassed it by simply change the name of the program.  could any one help me??

thanks

Adrian

You could setup a policy to block programs running unless they are in a certain location, eg block all programs that aren't located in the "C:Program Files" folder, or create a list of programs on your computers and and deny all exes from running unless their hash matches one in the list. The first way is easily bypassed if students are smart enough to realise, The later becomes an issue when you have a programming class that need to make exes. Someone may be able to build on this, to over come the problems.

Yes, I'd also recommend Group Policies if you're running a Windows environment.  Or Local Security Policies might work better.

You can find these in the Administrative Tools Folder in the control panel.

Or if you don't want students using USB devices at all, there is always the old fill the port with hot glue trick.

i was think about only allowing for programs that are is the "C:Program Files" but there are 5 class of computer programing and they make exe files and there are lost of students that bring there school work on there usb's to print it off at school.