Windows XP On Kingston U3 ?

Mixpower

Hey,

I have a question i know it is possible to get XP on a USB Device.

But i have A Kingston U3 Does anyone knows how to get XP on it because its easier to boot, so does someone has a guide or knows how to do this ?

Thanks.

I've never tried it before. But, when I install XP on my computer with a USB drive plugged, in it shows up in the installer page that lets you make partitions and format. So I'd imagine that you'd have to just install to the drive and then when the computer boots pick to boot from USB device.

Unless it was a hacked version of XP you'd have to reactivate it every time you plugged it into another computer.

You could try making an image of a regular drive that has XP on it and applying it to the thumbdrive, but I don't know if that would work.

It doesn't seem like a good idea to put it on a thumbdrive though. With all of the disk activity XP does, the thumbdrive would live a very short life.

I appreciate that USB thumbdrives don't respond well to repeated read/write cycles, but what about Vista ReadyBoost? A USB thumbdrive is used as accessory RAM so, surely, there are repeated read/write operations? I don't know if a special USB thumbdrive must be used in the ReadyBoost context.

I might be being a bit noobish, but doesnt flash based storage genrally more reliable and last longer due to there solid statienussss ( <-- made up work lol)
Well flash based storage doesn't do well if you write it many many times.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I think readyboost works something like this:

As Ram is expensive, it is not always possible for someone to just go and get more ram, so Microsoft wanted a way to save people money, as they don't sell ram so they don't care.