Payload Missing after Deploy and no Loot saved.

akmartinez

Hello everyone,

I recently started playing with the pair of Signal Owl's that I have after getting more comfortable with Linux and learning and practicing some cyber security topics.

I'm currently having a problem and I'm not sure if it's the Owl or the Payload.

I'm using the 1.0.1 firmware on my Owl.

I'm using the Delayed-AP-Attack-Mine payload.

I've had spotty success with the device/payload.  Sometimes it works and I get the loot and sometimes I get into the device and I see the payload is missing and there is no loot.

I'm not sure what is erasing the payload.  I ssh into the unit and see that it's there and it's executable.  Everything is prepped and ready to go.  I gracefully exit and end the ssh and disconnect the device from my PC.  I have a fully charged battery to run the device.

I get to where I want to run the payload and plug the Owl into the battery and let it run.  I come back and check later, the LED is off indicating that the payload ran for its alotted time.  I remove it from the battery and bring it back home.  I reconnect it to my PC and reconnect via SSH and I see there is no loot and the payload is missing.

I'm not sure what is happening.  I've tried this payload on this device and 50% of the time so far it has failed in tis way.

Is there something I'm doing or some known issue?  Has anyone else had this problem.

Any help would be appreciated.

At this time I'm going to try to use the other Owl I have to see if it does the same thing.  I know the other Owl has been good so far but only with the Bluetooth Scanner.  I've not had problems with that device and payload yet.