WiFi Pineapple Mark VII  and Alfa AWUS036ACH 2.4 & 5 Ghz USB Wireless Adapter

Zeq

Hello everyone, newbie here, hopefully someone can enlighten me, apologies for the silly question.

What are the dereferences between WiFi Pineapple Mark VII  and Alfa AWUS036ACH 2.4 & 5 Ghz USB Wireless Adapter, can the same results be achieved with both?

Many thanks.

The biggest difference is that the ACH isn't on the list of 5 GHz USB NICs that is compatible with the Mark VII out of the box. Alfa AWUS036ACM is compatible though. The compatible adapters use the MT7612U chipset, whereas the ACH uses the RTL8812AU chipset (which is considered more or less crap). I guess that when you say WiFi Pineapple Mark VII, you refer to the Hak5 MK7AC WiFi Adapter. If you actually mean the Mark VII itself, then the biggest difference is that there is no built in 5 GHz support in the Mark VII, only 2.4 GHz. But, if you add a 5 GHz USB NIC with a compatible chipset, you get 5 GHz as well.

Thanks darl_pyro I will have to do some research to fully understand what you have explained but I appreciate your response. I was referring to the WIFI PINEAPPLE MARK VII from Hack5 it self, would you be able to point me to a 5 GHz USB NIC?

Thanks again

First load the Hak5 documentation site
https://help.hak5.org/hak5-docs/

Click "WiFi Pineapple"

In the left menu, look for "Compatible 802.11ac Adapters", click that menu item

Read the matrix/array/table containing supported 5 GHz NICs on the "Compatible 802.11ac Adapters" page

Click "Hak5 MK7AC Adapter" in the matrix if you want more information about the official Hak5 5 GHz USB adapter in the shop

For the other two adapters listed in the matrix, I would suggest conducting a search using your favorite search engine on the internet

dark_pyrro you are a start, thanks a lot for your dedicated response and guidance.