CIA Hacking Capabilities

Winston_boy123

Hi, I’m an author researching material for my next novel about a journalist who exposes an illegal CIA operation and who faces the wrath of the agency as a result.

I’m keen to get conformation (or otherwise) on several key points, as follows:

Given what we now know as a result of the Vault 7 leaks, is it possible for a top-level CIA hacker to frame a person by…

(1) remotely accessing their computer without their knowledge and taking control of it;

(2) accessing websites using their browser and planting incriminating material on their hard drive, again without the user’s knowledge;

(3) modifying the dates and times when these websites were visited using a tool such as Time Stomper (or similar);

(4) finally, having successfully executed the hack, erase it, or hide it, or obfuscate it to the extent that law enforcement forensics are unable to find any evidence that it ever took place?

I would be very grateful if anyone could answer these points as I would very much like to get the technical details right in the story. I just need to know what is technically possible and what is fantasy.

Many thanks in advance.

• 2 weeks later...

You need to go look on youtube. There are plenty of jokers demonstrating how they gain access to computers.

I would not be surprised if there are a lot of people in jail because of this. I am even more surprised this is not asked more often.

Now in your scenario the attacker has great knowledge of the victim, address, name and pretty much anything else, they may have it from personal means or from doxing the victim. Either way it is up close and personal. The average persona doesn't think like that, even if I hated someone I would never consider that due to it can haunt you for a long ass time!! BUT, our government doesn't have a heart and will not think about doing it more than once before it IS done! Your attacker's knowledge of the victim is paramount.