WinXP Tweaks Compilation

osatox

Hey Hak.5 Members/Fans/Etc. I'm new to the whole Hak.5 sensation (woot!) and so I looked a bit around and maybe thought I may help people out in some case. I'm not a hacker or anything, although I mess with my computer (a whole lot), tweaking it to get the best performance or for liking in the UI I can for gaming and application usage. So this topic/post is just a few performance tweaks I have used on my Windows XP platform that I have searched around the net.

Please note and try not to screw up because it may be vital.

All of these Tweaks and changes have been tested on Windows XP Professional and Windows XP Home.

These may help some gamers or hackers likes, I guess :P

NOTE: I do not take credit on any of these tweaks. All of these tweaks/changes are a compilation of several guides I have browsed around the net.

MsConfig

Most Windows users (maybe not) are familiar with MsConfig, which is a built-in system configuration utility from Microsoft in their Windows products. I remember using MsConfig back in Windows 98, so Win98 and up are a sure thing for MsConfig although I am not sure for Win95 or earlier.

Simply go to Start, and select Run. For the shortcut, hit your Windows Key + R. In the Run window, type msconfig in the line provided and hit OK. You will see lots of tabbed sections like General, SYSTEM.INI, BOOT.INI, etc. Now I am using Windows XP so it may look different on Win2000 or Win98.