Will a VPN protect me on public Wifi?

Ryan Putin

I will be traveling to China for a work-related assignment, and given that there's high level of surveillance in China, will a VPN protect me if I'm connected to a Public Wifi? I have FastestVPN subscription and the support guy said that the VPN only encrypts the data between two endpoints; I'm not tech savvy so i dont't know what that means. And if the Wifi asks for any permission to should I accept?  

Yes, no, possibly and maybe.

Yes, it will protect at least some of your network traffic as it goes from your device through to the FastestVPN server, at that point, the server decrypts the traffic and sends it on its way. That is what is mean by between the end points, you to them, what happens from them onwards depends on the type of traffic you are sending. This should at least get your traffic through the Chinese firewall.

No, the Chinese have some very strict rules in place and may block the VPN or mess with the traffic in order to be able to decrypt what they see, for example swapping out encryption certificates. When doing this, if the client has been written correctly, it should warn you that something bad is happening so you will be able to make a decision as to what to do.

Possibly, without knowing something about how FastestVPN works, it isn't possible to say how well they configure the service, done well and all your traffic should go across the VPN, done badly and all sorts could leak out around it.

Maybe, without fully testing it in an environment where you can monitor exactly what is going on then it isn't possible to know for sure.