kali linux practice, how to

AntiHero

Im looking for some ideas on how to work on and practice using kali linux for the purpose of pen-testing and using all the various functions kali comes with. Things to bare in mind: I am fairly new to this, I have more then one computer, Im looking to aggressively expand my knowledge in this area, and of course i wanna be able to do this w/o breaking or damaging anything. Thoughts and suggestions, please and thank you!

Slight correction first, you don't learn Kali, Kali is just a collection of tools that could be installed on any Linux distro.

For learning the different tools, it all depends on what area you are interested in. I'd get on securitytube.net and find videos or tutorials on those areas and then play.

There are also a whole bunch of different CTF challenges out there, again, depending on your area of interest depends which you choose.

I'd also suggest not using Kali and going for something like Ubuntu or Debian instead and learning to install all the tools you want yourself, that will give you a much better idea of OS level stuff than just using a tool that someone else has already installed and configured for you.

• Like 2

Well I've been working with linux mint-cinnamon for abit to just get the feel for linux itself.  Id like to learn more of what the tools given to me are capable of doing so CTF challenges maybe a good place to start. Direction, after all, is what im looking for here. There's so much out there picking a path to travel down has proven to be the toughest part.

First question, what are you interested in?

And if you are running Mint, stick with that and install the tools you want to use in there. It is more work but believe me, it will work out better in the long run.

• Like 2

On 9/24/2018 at 9:54 AM, digininja said:

First question, what are you interested in?