OSINT on individuals

AtomShards

I enjoy security and hacking but am not good enough to peruse it as a career so im basically a noob who knows a few things. Now everything i can find on OSINT relates to a company or business but i would like to know how i could get as much information on an everyday individual. All help is greatly appreciated, thank you

How do you mean, "relates to companies" ?

OSINT - Open Sources Intelligence gathering (Collecting info from open / public sources)
HUMINT - Human Intelligence Gathering (info from people on the ground / human sources)
CYBINT - Cyber intelligence
SIGINT  - Signal Intelligence gathering
TECHINT - Analysis of technical capabillities of an enemy
MEDINT - Medical records / information
FININT - Financial information

So OSINT is just the CIA's catchy term for gathering date from publically available sources ?

Directed at a person, it would be using every public know source to gather info on that person or group.
<Stalkerish mode ON>
Websites, social media, phonebooks, public records, News sites / magazines and papers. 
<Stalkerish mode OFF>
For keeping track of these records, and building a picture of how it relates, I would suggest "maltego" and "casefile", they were made for this, and really is a great help in organising the information in a logical order. 

Start thinking on yourself yourself an an example.

What information is out there on you ?
What kind is it (phone number, email, medical, address and so on)
Who has this information, and who can access it ?, and access it under what circumstances ?
How do you get to it ?

Because it will help you to start thinking about whats out there on you, and how to protect it.
But, more important, it will help you build a list on most types and sources of information that applies to everyone else

If it were me, that had to start launch an operation into someone, it would most likely go something like this.

OSINT PHASE (Passive phase)