Certifications Path

hackfleisch

I currently hold 0 certifications.  I've held A+, Security+, Cisco, and Apple certs in the past.  To me, certs just get you past the HR drones who have to check boxes before an interview, and show you can retain information long enough to pass a test.  Work experience is more important, in my opinion.  Besides the Apple certs, all the others I received within a 4 month time period after I was let go from a previous job, just for the HR example I gave.  The sec+ book was handed back in still shrink wrapped.  I've been working in this industry for almost 20 years though.  So my resume reflects that, "I have 20 years doing blah, and have held these certifications, blah blah, and blah".

I am leaning the direction of @barry99705

I was the type to push everyone toward college back in the day but now I have been more picky as to when you need to spend half your life on a student loan if you do not have to.  School versus payoff these days has gotten tough when it comes to loans so I always try to steer people from them if they can attain the knowledge just as well from other means but that is just my background when it comes to education these days.  Though I still believe in obtaining knowledge.