squathub

Newbie here.   Trying to explot my ip adress with the following commands

set RHOST 192.168.56.1

set PAYLOAD windows/meterpreter/bind_tcp

exploit

I get the following message:

192.168.56.1:45 Exploit failed [unreachable]: Rex: : Connection refused

I have pinged the adress and all is fine.  Can you explain this to me

With the information give not much can be said to help you.

What kind of device is it or what OS is running on it?

What exploit are you using and what versions does it work against?

What version is the service that is running on the remote host?

Is the service on the default port and if not have you designated the port that is being used by the remote device?

Edited by e-Euler

10 hours ago, squathub said:

exploit(windows/smb/ms08_067_netapi) > use exploit/windows/smb/ms08_067_netapi

I'm confused here. Are you attempting to use a Windows payload to exploit a MAC OS? Or are you implying that you're using MAC OS to exploit a Windows machine?

For your particular type of machine you may have to change the pipe from BROWSER to SRVSVC.

Also if you use the -show info- command it will tell you that it may cause the service to fail on subsequent attempts. If you try it once and it doesn't work, be sure to restart the service on the windows machine before you try again to make sure that the service hasn't crashed.

Edited by e-Euler

Your target is windows

If you launch a Mac exploit on a windows machine it is 99.99% not going to work unless it is written in C and has the same exploit path as your general windows machine. When launching from metasploit your payload and exploit are target oriented. The only reason you would consider your own operating system is if you are using metasploit to stand up some services such as http(s) smtp DNS etc.

11 hours ago, squathub said:

I am using mac OS. The full programming routine can be seen below:

exploit(windows/smb/ms08_067_netapi) > use exploit/windows/smb/ms08_067_netapi