How to get started in Cyber Security?

Cyber_AI

Hi I'm very new to the tech world in the sense I don't know much about cyber security. I want to get into the cyber security industry but I'm not exactly sure on how to go about it. I've sign up for some udemy courses to learn what I am assuming are the basics and fundamentals, but what I need to know is how to get the real world experience so I can actually start a career in this industry. I've heard some people say to volunteer on your own, others say start your own side business till you build up enough experience. So any advice I can get on here will be greatly appreciated!  

You aren't going to get any meaningful experience or do a good job for clients if you go out on your own straight away. You need to work with someone who knows their stuff to pick up the real world stuff. I'd say you need at least a couple of years working with others before trying to do anything on your own.

The type of company is up to you, someone big like NCC would probably have a graduate, new starter training program that would get you up to speed quickly but would also be fairly generic or a smaller boutique firm which would get you more hands on with skilled testers but probably a little less breadth.

• Like 2

I'm with digininja on this one. I have worked for 16 years as a web dev and IT administrator. Due to my ever itching interest in hacking and pentesting though I just took a chance last December and applied at a small company that is on the red teaming side of things. During my interview I clearly stated that I had no relative hacking experience what so ever, just coding and hardware skills.

Now six months later I have learned a lot of things on the job, and still learning every day. I can say it is challenging and sometimes even hard, and mistakes have been made during the last six months. But it is also very exciting to do, as you get into real world situations on a daily basis.