Security student seeking help

Jeliason

Hello everyone!

I am a student at a community college and while my major is in Networking Technology, my main interests lay in cyber security. Unfortunately most of my education revolved around configuring Cisco devices, so everything I've learned outside of that has just been mostly on my own and for fun. 

Anyway the reason I am posting here is because I'm trying to put together a demonstration for the students here involved in the security certificate program at the college to demonstrate some of the dangers of open WiFi or even secure networks. I would appreciate any suggestions or links to resources anyone has regarding how to properly use this device.

I am currently able to set up my own WAP,  deauth clients from it and connect them to my rogue access point. From there I can run Dwall and see some traffic but only if it isn't HTTPS, which is rare now.

I was able to get Evil Portal working somewhat, but the templates I found through the forums aren't working right or I'm doing something wrong. The portal will show up and it will capture the credentials, but the client will see a page that will say "not authorized", then after refreshing the page it will say "authorized" and then you have to open a new tab/window to continue browsing, so it's suspicious.

I've tried to get SSLSplit and DNS2proxy working so I can MITM and bypass HSTS but I'm at a loss. I have them installed properly and am avoiding the SD card bug by using a USB SD card reader. I open multiple sessions of putty and run sslsplit in one window and dns2proxy in the other. I'm not fully understanding the output because it doesn't seem to be doing what I expected and I don't know how I'm supposed to use these tools to bypass HSTS. When googling around in some places I'm seeing people say these tools don't work any more and in others I'm hearing the opposite.

Randomroll works fine and will probably get a laugh so I will use that.