Ubuntu Server edition

nitro13

Hello everybody

This is my first time posting, and I just wanted to ask, why is Ubuntu taken for granted when it comes to be used on a server?

As far as supporting new hardwares and so on... it beats debian.

In any case, would you use Ubuntu server edition as your server os?

or would u rather go for Centos or a redhat based?

thank you very much guys!

you all rocks! love the forum and the community

Ubuntu is a pile of cack IMO. CentOS is far better, and you might want to look at BSD, it holds all the uptime records for servers.

what do you mean by "cack IMO"!

I am tempting to go with BSD, but not sure there hardware support is great!

u know NetBSD?

thx man

Just say no. Ubuntu is a feature pact desktop OS but is missing some security and enterprise features that CentOS and other more enterprise targeted distributions have. CentOS is easy to set up and is basically Red Hat Enterprise Linux, so it’s easy to use, feature packed and has a proven background in the server side of things.

If you're happy spending time configuring and setting up a server then OpenBSD is one of the best, if not the best operating systems for servers.

NetBSD is fine if you need something that is lightweight or you have some strange bit of hardware laying around but OpenBSD is better.

I know the server version of Ubuntu has some changes and they removed a lot of the crap, but its still not a good server operating system.

Just say no. Ubuntu is a feature pact desktop OS but is missing some security and enterprise features that CentOS and other more enterprise targeted distributions have. CentOS is easy to set up and is basically Red Hat Enterprise Linux, so it’s easy to use, feature packed and has a proven background in the server side of things.

If you're happy spending time configuring and setting up a server then OpenBSD is one of the best, if not the best operating systems for servers.