Locking a folder with a batch file

Dave-ee Jones

Hoi!

So, I've decided to post a script that I've been using for many years. What it does is lock a folder with a specified password, allowing you to hide and unhide a folder from view any time you please.
Keep in mind the code isn't entirely mine - it's an upgraded version of script I found on the internet many years ago.

The method of hiding the folder can be seen through if the intruder suspects that there is something hidden there. If a hacker or pentester suspected that there was a hidden file they could find it fairly easily, and I'll tell you how later on in this post. However, if anyone else approached your computer and looked at the files they probably wouldn't look twice. I mean, would you? I don't, unless I suspect..

So, here's the code (why can't we have spoiler tags..):

@echo off
color 0a

:LOAD
cls
if EXIST "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}" goto MAIN
if NOT EXIST MyStuff goto MFOLDER
goto MAIN

:MAIN
cls
echo [ FolderLocker V3 ]
echo.
echo 1 - LOCK FOLDER
echo 2 - UNLOCK FOLDER
echo 3 - EXIT
echo.
set /p Choice=Choice: 
if %Choice% == 1 goto CONFIRMLOCK
if %Choice% == 2 goto UNLOCK
if %Choice% == 3 goto EXIT
goto MAIN

:LOCK
ren "MyStuff" "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
attrib +h +s "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
echo Folder 'MyStuff' has been locked.
timeout /t 1 >NUL
goto MAIN

:CONFIRMLOCK
cls
echo [ FolderLocker V3 ]
echo.
echo Lock Folder 'MyStuff'? (Y/N)
set /p Choice=Choice: 
if %Choice% == Y goto LOCK
if %Choice% == y goto LOCK
if %Choice% == N goto MAIN
if %Choice% == n goto MAIN
echo Invalid choice.
timeout /t 1 >NUL
goto MAIN

:UNLOCK
cls
echo [ FolderLocker V3 ]
echo.
echo Folder's Password:
set /p Password=Password: 
if NOT %Password% == password goto EXIT ELSE
attrib -h -s "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"
ren "Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}" "MyStuff"