FNG looking for help on where to start.

anonymus

So where do I begin?....... I am a complete noob and basically have zero idea where to start. I am very much interested in learning Pentesting and Ethical Hacking. I also have a healthy interest in wanting to learn Linux and how to use the command line. I just have zero idea where to begin....... I know Kali is probably not the best/easiest platform for a beginner to learn on. 

So I ask you, all the great people in Hak5 Forum land, can you steer a FNG in the proper direction and help him get started? Any and all help will be appreciated.

Also, yes I already do subscribe to Hak5 youth channel before anyone asks. Again thanks for any and all help.

I bought a Bunny.

Free shoutout for Hak5? No....No no no...Definitely not.

Honestly though, a Bunny really did help. It utilises lots of different languages - Bash is the most prominent, but there is also Python, Powershell, HTML, CSS and even a bit of Ducky script :P (among others)

However, I understand if one does not want to spend $100 USD to start learning how to pentest when you can just play around with simple tools. I was always interested in programming (especially security-based programs), hacking and the like. Maybe think about getting a Raspberry Pi and start playing around with that?

Installing VMs and then playing around with multiboot USBs that can remove passwords from Windows, boot up live Linux distros (that's always cool)..asking your mum to borrow her PC so you can hack into it and show her what you've learnt (you know, show her what you've learnt...yea, okay not wise..), make security systems around your house, play with a VPN so you can access your network from the internet (outside of home) etc..(VPN is tricky - don't do this unless you really know what you're doing otherwise other people on the internet will have access to your network..)