Budget Pentesting Environment?

Listrix

Hey Everyone,

I've just started getting in to pentesting and although watching videos on how to do pentesting, I'd prefer to have my own machine with Kali installed that I can practice different stuff with. The problem is I'm a student with a very tight budget and don't have heaps of money to buy a brand-new, i7 8gb ram computer. (I can't use my current computer because it's a school-issued laptop and I don't have admin access to install VirtualBox. I've installed Qemu but I'm not too sure how to use it yet, I'll research a bit more before purchasing something).

These are my options:
1. I've got a spare computer with a broken screen, it will cost about $100 to get it fixed. I can just use a monitor but the problem is I can't access the bios when using a monitor to install Kali and it's only an i3 with 4gb ram, probably not enough to run a decent vm.

2. Purchase a second-hand laptop. I've been searching around, found a few good laptops that are equal specs as my spare laptop and cost the same. I'm just very cautious when I'm buying second-hand tech stuff because I'm not sure how the other people have used them in the past.

3. Buying a brand-new android tablet. I've heard of people using android tablets for pentesting so I was wondering if it was worth it to get an android tablet and install Kali or whatever on to it to practice pentesting.

What do you guys think?

QEMU is fine, if you can run it on the school machine, you should be able to make a new VM and install Kali via QEMU, but ideally, the VMware would be my first choice, even over VBox. Vmware player only lets you run one machine at a time though, vs something like Vmware Workstation, where you can run multiples at the same time. Workstation is what I use at home so I can run multiple VM's at the same time when I practice in my own lab.