Locating evidence of a buffer overflow in Wireshark

crunchymom

Okay, so first, I'm a student. 

I'm completing a project that requires analyzing a pcap file in Wireshark. One part of it is finding the series of packets that indicate a buffer overflow, followed by an SQL injection. I have no idea whatsoever how to filter for this, or even what to look for if I do see it. It's the only part that I haven't been able to solve yet. Everything else, Google was pretty helpful. 

Hints? Ideas? Filter recommendations? 

Thank you! 

I'd imagine the sqli is going to be visible in data in a Web request, so filtering for http should help you find that. You might be able to filter the data somehow to check for common strings associated with sqli.

For the buffer overflow it'll probably be visible as a long string containing some hex at the end. Maybe it would be easier to filter out the other traffic first using "!". So you could get rid of arp with "!arp" and so on. Do the same with dns and any other noise that might be in the capture and take a look through what's left afterward.