Replicating a radio signal (433 MHz)

I recently installed a very powerful LED based lighting solution to my office, but unfortunately it can only be controlled with a proprietary remote controller. As I've understood it, each remote and receiver are "paired" at the factory (no idea what kind of pairing technique they're using), and as far as I know they use one-way communication at 433 MHz (remote -> receiver).

I've bought a SDR USB dongle which allowed me to accurately record the key presses, and it's relatively easy to see the signals. But since I'm very new to the world of SDR, I have no idea how to decode the signal, so I can replicate it on an Arduino or a Raspberry Pi, then use a 433 MHz transmitter (I have several transmitter boards) to send the replicated signal, to for example turn the lighting on or off.

From all the guides and resources I've been researching, they all talk about OOK modulation, but my recorded data looks nothing like the ones I've seen online. I'm fairly sure it's not using OOK modulation, but then again, I know next to nothing about SDR or radio signals.

Below is a link to a sample recording of a single recorded signal. I'm hoping that some of you who are more familiar with SDR could help me with this. Once I know how to decode or replicate one signal, I should be able to continue with the rest of them.

Sample Recording (.wav): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/480/SDR_Sample.wav

I've gathered the following information from these signals:
- Bit rate is 40 nanoseconds
- Preamble is 180 bits (90 highs and 90 lows)
- Frequency is at around 433,895 MHz

Guest Josef K

It looks like you're almost there. You can do a clock recovery in Gnuradio, but since this is a one-time-off, it's far easier to visually decode the signal.

It definitely is OOK, and the symbols (bits) are easy to spot. The signal starts with 10101110101010110.....