Request for Input: Building a simple Windows based pentest lab for school

SofaKing42

So here is the low down: I am a first year CS student trying to make an impression on our campus's computer security club. Essentially this is going to be in preparation for a summer "pre-college" program our campus is hosting to some local high school students, this summer, and there is an opportunity to win some grant money for the club if all goes well.

I do not have too much information regarding the specifics of the program or the requirements of the pentest lab that is required to be built, but I am looking to get ahead of the game on this one and start by figuring out how to set up a basic lab.

The initial request was to create a VM with "vulnerable services" that exploits can be demonstrated against. My understanding is that VirtualBox allows for networking between VMs as with VMware which requires a paid version of the software. I have access to essentially any windows operating systems through the university. I am choosing a Windows based lab over Linux simply because I feel the students will be more familiar with windows networking/services. I assume we will be loading some instance of Kali for which to perpetrate the attacks against the machines. Or possibly even a custom distro designed specifically for this event to attack the targets.

At this point, I would like to go ahead and request some input regarding my next steps.

- What types of exploits do you feel a group of high schoolers would be interested in learning via a step-by-step process?

- When building the VM with vulnerable services, is it best to work backwards? For example, start with a fully up-to-date system and work backwards, installing older, more vulnerable versions of software onto the system? Perhaps uninstalling individual security updates from the system?