noob laptop & OS suggestions

oddsight

So I'm a huge noob when it comes to most IT stuff and I need some help with starter laptop suggestions and OS'es to learn and use. I want to learn stuff but everyone ive asked is all over the board from an apple airbook to cheapy Acer or chrome book. I've got an older refurbished imac desktop but its not mobile (well it is, I just look like a douche carrying it to coffee shops or meetup groups). Honestly I don't know too many IT people IRL, I have an art/design background. I don't even really know what I want to learn. I just know that I want to learn. Please advise me on where to start with laptops and OS'es.

You should start by seeing them as two very separate things - a new laptop and a new OS. One doesn't have to do anything with the other.

If you buy a mac, you'll want to learn either MacOS or Linux.

If you buy a normal laptop, you'll want to learn either Windows, (any one of the flavors of) Linux or (any one of the flavors of) BSD.

If you can't afford a normal laptop, get a Chromebook and install Linux in there via Crouton.

There are more OS choices, but we'd be veering *WAY* off into the experimental OS territory, and you probably prefer to just get things done.

Since the hardware limits your OS somewhat, the first question you should ask yourself is if you want to use a mac. The rumors are true: compared to regular laptops they're bloody expensive but you do get some nice hardware in return. If you've never used a mac before and you want to use MacOS the keyboard is going to trip you up initially as they have different special keys (google it) unique to a Mac. MacOS integrates this nicely, as does Linux but since Linux is mostly used in a PC-centric world you'll see the PC-terms of buttons. It'll map cleanly to the apple buttons but it's something to be aware of.