Considering the Mark V, need a simple way to sniff for MAC addresses, header, signal strength

kmuzumdar

I'm fairly new to the whole wifi sniffing scene, but I think I want the Mark V since it seems like there's a good community and intuitive interface. I've done a little with OpenWRT stuff with some routers but it hasn't done it for me.

I'm looking to buy the Mark V and configure it to do the following:

1. I go to some public location
  2. I turn it on (+ maybe some small steps necessary to start the process)
  3. Starts displaying MAC addresses, signal strengths, and headers, of people's devices nearby with a timestamp
  4. Outputs to a log file preferably, or something I can save at some point

I don't want to buy the Mark V and have to do a whole lot of my own coding since this project has a bit of a time crunch. Can anyone post some tutorials maybe, or any advice as to how to accomplish my goal with minimal sophistication? I have programming experience and all, but obviously the easier the better.

Thank you

Uhhh! the MK5 is supposed to kinda do some of the things you are trying to do the MK5 has or will have a feature that will show devices mac address under the network its connected to and also mac address of devices that are just floating around not connected to anything.

I possibly shouldn't have replied to your thread because i don't know a whole lot about the MK5 hopefully some other people can help you with the information you're looking for.

I myself am not aware of how to do a few of the things you want to gain such as the headers of the devices or the signal the device is getting to the AP but you can capture the mac address of devices with ease the rest i have no knowledge of but would be interested in hearing how it could be done as well.