Good internal WiFi/Bluetooth card for notebook?

Enigma83

A few days ago a rare thing happened.......my laptop's WiFi card "burned out", just stopped working. It wouldnt detect networks, nothing. It was a Intel WiFi Link 1000, in a 4 yr old Alienware M14X R1 laptop. I took it to a technician, he plugged the card into several other laptops, proving it was dead. He also plugged in several other cards into my slot, as proof that the card itself died, rather than the slot it was plugged into, which of course would indicate bigger issues. All the cards he tried worked. So now I'm borrowing a friend's USB WiFi adapter until I can get a replacement.

I have an interest in WiFi hacking, networking/security, pentesting, etc, and if I wanted just a run of the mill chip, I wouldn't bother posting here. But I'm not very experienced and dont know exactly what to look for, the makings of a good chip. I want something that is relatively recent and will work on all the latest Windows OSes, as well as having excellent Linux support. That pretty much rules out Broadcom, LOL, had issues with them and Linux in my older Lenovo notebook. I've been thinking an Intel chip would work well. Support for all the latest protocols (802.11A/B/G/N) is a must. I'm looking for something that is dual band, so I can utilize both the 2.x and 5.x spectrums. And it preferably will have Bluetooth built into the same chip, again, with support for the latest protocols. If it is capable of things like packet injection, adhoc, master mode/monitor mode, etc, then that would be even better. Being able to wire in an additional internal antenna is nice too.

Thanks in advance for any advice/product recommendations!

Edited by Enigma83