WPA password generation

DGARDENER12

Hi I am quite new to password generation so forgive me if this is a stupid question:)

I am trying to generate all possible combinations of WPA keys for BigPond modems in Australia. i have identified the layout of every single key that they generate. they look like this 1234E5678D: and its always the same layout " the first 4 characters are numbers, then the 5th character is a capital letter. then the next 4 are numbers again and the last is a letter" but for the life of me i cannot seem to work out how to generate keys with such specific parameters? any ideas how i would accomplish this? any help would be much appreciated. :grin:

Well, let's start with a bit of math first. What's the size of the keyspace here?

10000*26*10000*26 = 67.600.000.000

To create a file containing just those keys would require:

67.600.000.000 * (10+1) = 743.600.000.000 bytes

(10 for the combination and 1 for a separator character)

So, unless you have 3/4th of a terabyte lying around doing nothing, it wouldn't make a lot of sense to actually _store_ the combinations.

My suggestion would be to generate this data on the fly and then process it to achieve your goal.

So how would you do that? It's surprisingly easy, actually. You use the GNU parallel program.

parallel -j100 try_combination.sh {1}{2}{3}{4}{5}{6}{7}{8}{9}{10} ::: {0..9} ::: {0..9} ::: {0..9} ::: {1..9} ::: {a..z} ::: {0..9} ::: {0..9} ::: {0..9} ::: {0..9} ::: {a..z}