Beginner info for online / computer security

Jay@hak5

Hi Hak5 community

I'm hoping someone can help point me in the right direction here.

I'm a complete beginner in the "hacking", coding, online savy world & hoping to secure my computer and internet activity from prying eyes.

I've been a fan of hak5 for such a long time but you guys use such 'IT proffessional' terminology I'm really still none the wiser.

In laymans terms, for dummies:

Could someone take the time to point out some hak5 videos or tutorials to get me started in becoming more secure on my appliances / internet.

I've recently switched to Linux, from windows (which I absolutely adore). So made a good start (I think). What with encryption etc.

Hope to hear back

Hey, ok well first things first...your question is as old as time my friend..."Where do I start?"

People will tell you to go and learn a programming language...read guides, read manuals, read books, etc etc etc.

But look, I reckon the best way to start is write down what your looking to achieve by becoming a "hacker".

So you wanted to become more secure on the internet?

Start with google (no, im not joking), something simple..like, "How to secure my internet connection"

Then start your research and start taking notes....ok they mention WPA2 here...what is that, how does it work, etc.

Build your knowledge base.

You may very find that you have a gift for a particular stream of technology, wifi, media, who knows!

Tinker with hardware...get a raspberry pi...cheap, small, low powered, literally shitloads of projects out there.

With that you may find an interest in putting together your own projects for it...which could lead to tinkering in programming to get the hardware to do what you need to do.

The idea is do a few things at first...and then if you're interested in a specific field and find that you're good at it..then use that as your segway into other areas.