how do you secure a computer, network with paranoia?

Cpgeek

I work in IT as a combination network administrator and computer consultant. I often get the question of "how do I keep my computer secure", however, despite the normal "best practices" that I typically return to the average people that I help regularly, I always think to myself "you know, I can think of a few ways these normal techniques can be circumvented" or "normal computer security techniques would probably be a joke to circumvent for the $name_of_3_letter_intelligence_organization".

So I started thinking... How do government intelligence agencies handle security? If I did want to commit some kind of massive information crime (not that I would ever want to), how could I ensure that nobody could figure out my physical location, and if they do, how could I secure the information on my equipment in such a way that if seized and analysed by the best computer forensics and cryptoanalysts in the world, that they would find none of the incriminating information for prosecution.

It occurs to me that most publicly available crypto software is likely either not strong enough to resist the repeated attempts at circumvention by a government agency with as many resources as the NSA. Is there better software available than bitlocker / filevault2 / truecrypt / luks/dmcrypt? How does one mitigate cold boot attacks? What about mitigating against simple coercion? I know that for most standard United States trials, the fifth amendment gives some protection to people against giving up information in their head as they don't make you testify against yourself, but what about those people in non-public situations or outside of the united states on a waterboard? - a system with authentication expiration would probably be a good idea. somehow integrating a dead-man's-switch into the mix.